blue_large_final Click CEOP gif (3).gif 

Skip Navigation LinksGCSEs


You are most likely to have heard of GCSEs. You normally study these when you are 15 and 16 at school and in a range of subjects.

You can also take them with study programmes and alongside Vocational course such as BTECs or equivalent.

GCSEs are aimed at learners working to Level 2:

GCSEs area available in more than 50 different subjects many schools offer a similar range of subjects eg:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Languages
  • Design and Technology
  • Humanities
  • Arts

Applied GCSEs are also available eg:

  • Science
  • Business
  • IT

GCSEs are mostly classroom learning with theory, subject based and practical work.

Many courses at university or college will require you to take GCSEs in certain subjects. If you have a particular aim in mind you should check the requirements for that course and take the appropriate subjects.

Getting GCSEs can provide you with a variety of options, for example, work, further study or an apprenticeship.

  • If you get five GCSEs at grades A* to C you can choose from a range of options for further study. For example, you could choose a level 3 qualification such as an AS/A level, Applied GCE, BTEC National, NVQ, a BTEC Apprenticeship or a mixture of these qualifications.
  • If you get fewer than five GCSEs at grades A* to C you would be likely to choose to study a level 1 or 2 qualification, such as BTEC First, NVQ, BTEC Apprenticeship, or a mixture of these.